Happiness, and other disabilities.

 

The glasses I wear are thick.

They are heavy, a little too much

For the small cartilage that allows every reek and fragrance.

But thanks to them, I can see.

What is there, and much more.

Through the corner of my eyes when light is behind me,

I see rainbow colours.

When in front of me,

You can see me side-eye you better.

 


 

When I began to draw you,

I started hating colour.

When I still coloured you, you looked so ugly.

So I tossed you off,

And it missed the window by inches.

My cat still thinks you are what i knit my sweaters with.

She’s not wrong,

But it’s summer.

 


 

Guns and rifles,

Fire and havoc.

But don’t run away,

You’re the one holding the gun.

I am safe, but you need to save yourself.

Because now that I’m not crying, what will you feed on?

My blood? But how?

You’re the one with the gun,

But I am not imprudent anymore,

I know it’s not loaded.

 


 

Sunrise, birds and a good breakfast.

Been watching you grab my toast and toss it into your mouth.

Been watching you put your dirty finger into the jam bottle and lick it.

Been watching you grin with your chocolate-stained teeth after

You stole my cupcake and made conversation with my friends.

Been watching you feast

On my thought and imagination.

And as though you weren’t full, you drank my humor too?

Been watching you slowly die after that..you ok?

 


 

“Quick, move this face!”

*moves loneliness to the corner*

“Not phase, face.

“Oh!” *Smiles*

“Hmm, something is missing.”

“Cause?”

“Right!” *Caws and cries*

*laughs*

 


 

Watching horror movies with you

Is always fun.

Love the background music,

The yells, the bloodshed,

The thrill,

And how you got chased, killed, and bitten.

You won every time, but

The movies didn’t stop coming.

Loved the yells, the bloodshed, the thrill,

And loved watching myself in all those movies.


To depression, my best friend.


 

4 Replies to “Happiness, and other disabilities.”

  1. Your work is as beautiful as it is inspiring. You have a way with your words … you make it seem as if there is a language between the lines that transcends spoken syllables. As far as I can say, I was touched. Proud to have at least a little of a poet’s blood running through my own veins.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Manogna! This comment made my entire year! I’m so happy you liked my writing so much. Thank you so much for the support, and for those kind words. By your words, you seem to me like a writer yourself. If so, I’d love to see your work. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment